Federation Commander Forum Index Federation Commander
A NEW fast paced board game of starship combat!
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

More on Evasive Manouvres

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Federation Commander Forum Index -> Rules Questions
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
defurusu
Lieutenant JG


Joined: 20 Nov 2006
Posts: 85
Location: London, UK

PostPosted: Sat Dec 29, 2007 5:05 pm    Post subject: More on Evasive Manouvres Reply with quote

Put simply: Can a unit which is performing Evasive Manouvres be tractored? The only prohibition I can see in the rules is on the owner (or would-be owner) of a tractor link, not his prey.

I ask this because I've seen it mentioned (perhaps on the legacy board, I'm not sure) that you can't death-drag a Stinger if it's EM'ing. I thought you could, am I wrong?

Thanks in advance.

Andy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Kang
Fleet Captain


Joined: 23 Sep 2007
Posts: 1976
Location: Devon, UK

PostPosted: Sat Dec 29, 2007 5:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

As far as I can see, under (2D4b) Limitations:, it says that 'A ship which is maneuvering evasively cannot: Fire or launch.....land on a planet or other body, or be tractored.' However, Rule (2D4e) Prohibited: says that '...ships held in [or holding another unit in] a tractor beam....cannot use Evasive Maneuvers'.

I take this as meaning that an already established enemy tractor link will prevent a ship from using EM, but if it's already using EM then it cannot be tractored.

If, however, the tractor link belongs to the ship wanting to use EM, then the tractor link will have to be dropped before EM can commence.
_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
mjwest
Commodore


Joined: 08 Oct 2006
Posts: 4091
Location: Dallas, Texas

PostPosted: Sat Dec 29, 2007 6:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Kang got it all correct.
_________________

Federation Commander Answer Guy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
defurusu
Lieutenant JG


Joined: 20 Nov 2006
Posts: 85
Location: London, UK

PostPosted: Sun Dec 30, 2007 11:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Embarassed Dang, that "or be tractored" must have been cloaked in my rulebook; there it is, sure enough. Thanks for flash-cubing it!

Now to roast someone with some previously-EM'ing Stingers! Twisted Evil
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
PallidaMors
Commander


Joined: 24 Oct 2007
Posts: 478
Location: Seattle, Wa

PostPosted: Sun May 18, 2008 4:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

can you clear up one more rule isse that I have. it involves Evasive action, it states that you have to wait 2 impulses to come out of evasive once you declare it. so how do you rule if a ship goes evasive on the 8th impulse? do they have to wait until impulse 2 of the next turn to be able to come out of evasive action? the game card says you repay for evasive action at the start of each turn, so it would almost seem that this is a loop hole for a player to take quick evasive on the last impulse thinking that they would not have to worry about the 2 impulse spread and just decide not to put power into evasive action at the start of the next turn and as such be out of the effetcs of Evasive action on impulse 1 of that next turn.

Please clarify,

Thanks!!
Pete
_________________
Creator Empire campaign rules and Code of War (COW)Expansion.
review rules on the Federation Commander Campaign post, 123,000 views and growing
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
mjwest
Commodore


Joined: 08 Oct 2006
Posts: 4091
Location: Dallas, Texas

PostPosted: Sun May 18, 2008 5:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

(2D4d) says that Evasive Maneuvers "continue until the end of the turn or ..."

Therefore, if a ship goes evasive on Impulse 8, and does not pay to continue at the beginning of the next turn, the ship indeed performs a one-impulse evasive maneuver. Note, however, that it still pays the full six points of movement for the priviledge.
_________________

Federation Commander Answer Guy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
PallidaMors
Commander


Joined: 24 Oct 2007
Posts: 478
Location: Seattle, Wa

PostPosted: Sun May 18, 2008 6:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks!!!
_________________
Creator Empire campaign rules and Code of War (COW)Expansion.
review rules on the Federation Commander Campaign post, 123,000 views and growing
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Kang
Fleet Captain


Joined: 23 Sep 2007
Posts: 1976
Location: Devon, UK

PostPosted: Tue Aug 03, 2010 7:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sorry to resurrect the thread, but when in 'Energy Allocation' does the 'continuing EM' announcement take place?
_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
mjwest
Commodore


Joined: 08 Oct 2006
Posts: 4091
Location: Dallas, Texas

PostPosted: Tue Aug 03, 2010 9:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Nothing is specifically identified. Given that it is movement, I think immediately after announcing baseline speed would be good.
_________________

Federation Commander Answer Guy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Federation Commander Forum Index -> Rules Questions All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group