Federation Commander Forum Index Federation Commander
A NEW fast paced board game of starship combat!
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Capturing a Ship

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Federation Commander Forum Index -> Rules Questions
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
SylvrDragon
Lieutenant Commander


Joined: 23 Feb 2008
Posts: 203
Location: Euless, Texas

PostPosted: Wed Apr 02, 2008 5:15 pm    Post subject: Capturing a Ship Reply with quote

When you capture a ship via transported marines, do you actually gain control of said ship?
_________________
"...You're going to burn in a very special level of hell. A level they reserve for child molesters and people who talk at the theater." — Shepherd Book
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mjwest
Commodore


Joined: 08 Oct 2006
Posts: 3474
Location: Dallas, Texas

PostPosted: Wed Apr 02, 2008 5:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes. At that point the original owner of the ship hands the ship card to the new owner and the new owner makes all decisions related to running the ship.

Note that rule (3E2) provides a list of actions that the new owner cannot perform with his new acquisition.

And, just to answer the question before it is asked, if a captured ship is recaptured by its original owner in the same scenario, the ship does not suffer from any of the (3E2) restrictions. The (3E2) restrictions only apply to the non-original owner during a scenario.
_________________

Federation Commander Answer Guy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Sweeper
Lieutenant SG


Joined: 26 Dec 2006
Posts: 183
Location: Sierra Vista, AZ

PostPosted: Wed Apr 02, 2008 6:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

That applies only if the one doing the recapturing is of the same race as or allied with the original owner?

i.e. Klingon Marines capture a Fed DD, but Kzinti Marines, (who are being run by another player but is allied with the Feds), recapture the DD. Does that mean the Kzinti Marines release the crew so they can start using the DD in full again? Or is the ship still under rule 3E2?

I ask to get it out of the way as, sooner or later, such an issue will come up Smile.
_________________
I'm wise enough to know that I don't know half as much as I think I know, you know?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
junior
Captain


Joined: 08 May 2007
Posts: 803

PostPosted: Wed Apr 02, 2008 6:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

That would depend on your scenario rules.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mjwest
Commodore


Joined: 08 Oct 2006
Posts: 3474
Location: Dallas, Texas

PostPosted: Wed Apr 02, 2008 7:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Think of it this way.

The Fed DD is captured by the Klingons and the DD's ship card is given to the Klingon player. The DD now operates under the restrictions of (3E2).

The Kznti's launch a daring raid on the now captured DD and liberate it from the Klingons. The Klingon player hands the DD ship card to the Kzinti player. What does the Kzinti player do?

If the Kzinti player immediately gives the card on to the Federation player, then the DD is back in the hands of its original owner (i.e. the Kzintis freed the Federation crew and command), so it is not affected by (3E2).

If, however, the Kzinti player keeps the DD's ship card, then the DD isn't really back in the hands of its original owner (i.e. the crew wasn't really freed after all). Since it is not being run by its original owner, it is still under the restrictions of (3E2). (Some, ally, eh?)

Now, if the "Kzinti player" and the "Federation player" are the same person, then the distinction is moot, and the DD is no longer under the restrictions of (3E2). I just wanted to make the point for multi-player games when alliances can be much more fleeting.

And, yes, I will kick this all "upstairs" for confirmation.
_________________

Federation Commander Answer Guy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Scoutdad
Commodore


Joined: 09 Oct 2006
Posts: 4463
Location: Middle Tennessee

PostPosted: Wed Apr 02, 2008 7:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Wow! This is getting reminescent of the Fed & Empire "captured / converted" ships discussion.
_________________


Scoutdad's minis photos here!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Yahoo Messenger
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Federation Commander Forum Index -> Rules Questions All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group