| View previous topic :: View next topic | 
	
	
		| Author | Message | 
	
		| PallidaMors Commander
 
  
 Joined: 24 Oct 2007
 Posts: 478
 Location: Seattle, Wa
 
 | 
			
				|  Posted: Sun May 18, 2008 6:34 am    Post subject: particle cannons |   |  
				| 
 |  
				| question: If a particle canon was fired on impulse 5 of a given turn and then on the same turn was fired on impulse 8 would the next time then that particle cannon could fire be on the next turn on impulse 3 ( following the rule that PC must wait 3 impulses to fire again) or doees that same PC become available to shoot again on impulse 1 of the next turn (and as such there is no delay in firing)
 
 Thanks!
 _________________
 Creator Empire campaign rules and Code of War (COW)Expansion.
 review rules on the Federation Commander Campaign post, 123,000 views and growing
 |  | 
	
		| Back to top |  | 
	
		|  | 
	
		| DrFaustus Lieutenant JG
 
 
 Joined: 13 Jul 2007
 Posts: 97
 
 
 | 
			
				|  Posted: Sun May 18, 2008 10:04 am    Post subject: |   |  
				| 
 |  
				| It does state in the rule 4P1b that the fire delay is across turns so yeah the earliest is impulse 3 that you could fire. |  | 
	
		| Back to top |  | 
	
		|  | 
	
		| mjwest Commodore
 
  
 Joined: 08 Oct 2006
 Posts: 4100
 Location: Dallas, Texas
 
 | 
			
				|  Posted: Sun May 18, 2008 4:36 pm    Post subject: |   |  
				| 
 |  
				| Dr Faustus is correct. The rule is specific that the delay carries over between turns. Consider it the side effect of being able to shoot twice in a single turn. _________________
 
   Federation Commander Answer Guy
 |  | 
	
		| Back to top |  | 
	
		|  | 
	
		| pinecone Fleet Captain
 
  
 Joined: 03 May 2008
 Posts: 1862
 Location: Earth
 
 | 
			
				|  Posted: Thu Jun 05, 2008 7:20 pm    Post subject: |   |  
				| 
 |  
				|  	  | mjwest wrote: |  	  | Dr Faustus is correct. The rule is specific that the delay carries over between turns. Consider it the side effect of being able to shoot twice in a single turn. | 
 
 Or thrice if you time it right
  . |  | 
	
		| Back to top |  | 
	
		|  | 
	
		| Scoutdad Commodore
 
  
 Joined: 09 Oct 2006
 Posts: 4751
 Location: Middle Tennessee
 
 | 
			
				|  Posted: Thu Jun 05, 2008 8:01 pm    Post subject: |   |  
				| 
 |  
				| ummmmm, no. While the delay can extend the two firings across a turn break (i.e., one pulse on impulse 7 and again on impulse 2 of the next turn - and consequently on impulses 5 and
  , I don't think the intent of the rule is to allow for three firing pulses in a single turn. _________________
 Commander, Battlegroup Murfreesboro
 Department Head, ACTASF
 |  | 
	
		| Back to top |  | 
	
		|  | 
	
		| pinecone Fleet Captain
 
  
 Joined: 03 May 2008
 Posts: 1862
 Location: Earth
 
 | 
			
				|  Posted: Thu Jun 05, 2008 9:47 pm    Post subject: |   |  
				| 
 |  
				| Impulse 6 turn one Impulse 1 turn two
 Impulse 4 turn two
 Impulse 7 turn two (third time that turn)
   
 I see no problem with this manuver
  . |  | 
	
		| Back to top |  | 
	
		|  | 
	
		| MikePowers Lieutenant SG
 
  
 Joined: 13 Oct 2006
 Posts: 176
 
 
 | 
			
				|  Posted: Thu Jun 05, 2008 10:09 pm    Post subject: |   |  
				| 
 |  
				| Other than that the rules specifically don't allow you to fire a particle cannon more than twice per turn? |  | 
	
		| Back to top |  | 
	
		|  | 
	
		| pinecone Fleet Captain
 
  
 Joined: 03 May 2008
 Posts: 1862
 Location: Earth
 
 | 
			
				|  Posted: Thu Jun 05, 2008 11:10 pm    Post subject: |   |  
				| 
 |  
				| Missed That  |  | 
	
		| Back to top |  | 
	
		|  | 
	
		| Kang Fleet Captain
 
  
 Joined: 23 Sep 2007
 Posts: 1976
 Location: Devon, UK
 
 | 
			
				|  Posted: Thu Jun 12, 2008 7:54 am    Post subject: |   |  
				| 
 |  
				| My point relates more to the energy cost of firing a particle cannon. 
 In the particle cannon rules in Tholian Attack, it gives the energy cost as 1.5 points per shot for normal fire, 3 per shot for overloads.
 
 However, in the Example in the same rule, the firing ship pops off two shots at two points per shot.
 
 I see that the question of actual power cost has already been answered in
 
 http://www.starfleetgames.com/federation/phpbb2/viewtopic.php?t=727&highlight=particle+cannons
 
 ...but I thought it odd that the ruling was not in Briefing #1.
 
 Just an accidental omission, I guess!
 _________________
 
  |  | 
	
		| Back to top |  | 
	
		|  | 
	
		| mjwest Commodore
 
  
 Joined: 08 Oct 2006
 Posts: 4100
 Location: Dallas, Texas
 
 | 
			
				|  Posted: Thu Jun 12, 2008 1:26 pm    Post subject: |   |  
				| 
 |  
				| Probably just an item that got missed. Most likely my bad. 
 I now have that item marked in my rulebook for future notice.
 _________________
 
   Federation Commander Answer Guy
 |  | 
	
		| Back to top |  | 
	
		|  | 
	
		| Kang Fleet Captain
 
  
 Joined: 23 Sep 2007
 Posts: 1976
 Location: Devon, UK
 
 | 
			
				|  Posted: Thu Jun 12, 2008 6:35 pm    Post subject: |   |  
				| 
 |  
				| Can't say fairer than that!  _________________
 
  |  | 
	
		| Back to top |  | 
	
		|  | 
	
		|  |