Federation Commander Forum Index Federation Commander
A NEW fast paced board game of starship combat!
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

particle cannons

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Federation Commander Forum Index -> Rules Questions
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
PallidaMors
Commander


Joined: 24 Oct 2007
Posts: 474
Location: Seattle, Wa

PostPosted: Sun May 18, 2008 6:34 am    Post subject: particle cannons Reply with quote

question:
If a particle canon was fired on impulse 5 of a given turn and then on the same turn was fired on impulse 8 would the next time then that particle cannon could fire be on the next turn on impulse 3 ( following the rule that PC must wait 3 impulses to fire again) or doees that same PC become available to shoot again on impulse 1 of the next turn (and as such there is no delay in firing)

Thanks!
_________________
Creator Empire 1,4 campaingn rles and Code of War (COW)Expansion.
review rules on the Federation Commander Campaign post, 123,000 views and growing
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
DrFaustus
Lieutenant JG


Joined: 13 Jul 2007
Posts: 97

PostPosted: Sun May 18, 2008 10:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

It does state in the rule 4P1b that the fire delay is across turns so yeah the earliest is impulse 3 that you could fire.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mjwest
Commodore


Joined: 08 Oct 2006
Posts: 3495
Location: Dallas, Texas

PostPosted: Sun May 18, 2008 4:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Dr Faustus is correct. The rule is specific that the delay carries over between turns. Consider it the side effect of being able to shoot twice in a single turn.
_________________

Federation Commander Answer Guy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
pinecone
Fleet Captain


Joined: 03 May 2008
Posts: 1865
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Thu Jun 05, 2008 7:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

mjwest wrote:
Dr Faustus is correct. The rule is specific that the delay carries over between turns. Consider it the side effect of being able to shoot twice in a single turn.


Or thrice if you time it right Wink .
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Scoutdad
Commodore


Joined: 09 Oct 2006
Posts: 4470
Location: Middle Tennessee

PostPosted: Thu Jun 05, 2008 8:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ummmmm, no.
While the delay can extend the two firings across a turn break (i.e., one pulse on impulse 7 and again on impulse 2 of the next turn - and consequently on impulses 5 and Cool, I don't think the intent of the rule is to allow for three firing pulses in a single turn.
_________________


Scoutdad's minis photos here!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Yahoo Messenger
pinecone
Fleet Captain


Joined: 03 May 2008
Posts: 1865
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Thu Jun 05, 2008 9:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Impulse 6 turn one
Impulse 1 turn two
Impulse 4 turn two
Impulse 7 turn two (third time that turn) Very Happy

I see no problem with this manuver Confused .
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MikePowers
Lieutenant SG


Joined: 13 Oct 2006
Posts: 176

PostPosted: Thu Jun 05, 2008 10:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Other than that the rules specifically don't allow you to fire a particle cannon more than twice per turn?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pinecone
Fleet Captain


Joined: 03 May 2008
Posts: 1865
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Thu Jun 05, 2008 11:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Missed That Embarassed
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Kang
Fleet Captain


Joined: 23 Sep 2007
Posts: 1962
Location: Devon, UK

PostPosted: Thu Jun 12, 2008 7:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

My point relates more to the energy cost of firing a particle cannon.

In the particle cannon rules in Tholian Attack, it gives the energy cost as 1.5 points per shot for normal fire, 3 per shot for overloads.

However, in the Example in the same rule, the firing ship pops off two shots at two points per shot.

I see that the question of actual power cost has already been answered in

http://www.starfleetgames.com/federation/phpbb2/viewtopic.php?t=727&highlight=particle+cannons

...but I thought it odd that the ruling was not in Briefing #1.

Just an accidental omission, I guess!
_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
mjwest
Commodore


Joined: 08 Oct 2006
Posts: 3495
Location: Dallas, Texas

PostPosted: Thu Jun 12, 2008 1:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Probably just an item that got missed. Most likely my bad.

I now have that item marked in my rulebook for future notice.
_________________

Federation Commander Answer Guy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Kang
Fleet Captain


Joined: 23 Sep 2007
Posts: 1962
Location: Devon, UK

PostPosted: Thu Jun 12, 2008 6:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Can't say fairer than that! Smile
_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Federation Commander Forum Index -> Rules Questions All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group