View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
Kang Fleet Captain

Joined: 23 Sep 2007 Posts: 1976 Location: Devon, UK
|
Posted: Sat Jul 10, 2010 2:00 pm Post subject: Q-Ship question |
|
|
Rule (5L4a) (2) states that a [raiding] ship must come within 4 (or 2) hexes of the Q-ship in order to reveal it as such.
My question is, at what point in the impulse does this recognition occur? Specifically, can an investigating ship move into - and then out of the required range in the same impulse, and still have that approach counted for Q-ship revealing purposes, or does the raider have to end the movement portion of the impulse within the required range? You can see why this might be a good idea and therefore why this might be a loophole.... _________________
 |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mjwest Commodore

Joined: 08 Oct 2006 Posts: 4091 Location: Dallas, Texas
|
Posted: Mon Aug 02, 2010 2:32 am Post subject: |
|
|
Since the rules for labs in general work on the principle of "closest approach", I have to say that the opposing ship may indeed move to four (or two) hexes and back out by the end of the impulse and still qualify to identify the Q-ship. Seeing as you can only move four hexes each turn, this isn't going to give anyone a tremendous advantage. Especially as the Q-ship is going to have plenty of power with which to control its own movement. _________________
Federation Commander Answer Guy |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|