| View previous topic :: View next topic   | 
	
	
	
		| Author | 
		Message | 
	
	
		Kang Fleet Captain
  
  Joined: 23 Sep 2007 Posts: 1976 Location: Devon, UK
  | 
		
			
				 Posted: Sat Jul 10, 2010 2:00 pm    Post subject: Q-Ship question | 
				     | 
			 
			
				
  | 
			 
			
				Rule (5L4a) (2) states that a [raiding] ship must come within 4 (or 2) hexes of the Q-ship in order to reveal it as such.
 
 
My question is, at what point in the impulse does this recognition occur? Specifically, can an investigating ship move into - and then out of the required range in the same impulse, and still have that approach counted for Q-ship revealing purposes, or does the raider have to end the movement portion of the impulse within the required range? You can see why this might be a good idea and therefore why this might be a loophole.... _________________
   | 
			 
		  | 
	
	
		| Back to top | 
		 | 
	
	
		  | 
	
	
		mjwest Commodore
  
  Joined: 08 Oct 2006 Posts: 4100 Location: Dallas, Texas
  | 
		
			
				 Posted: Mon Aug 02, 2010 2:32 am    Post subject:  | 
				     | 
			 
			
				
  | 
			 
			
				Since the rules for labs in general work on the principle of "closest approach", I have to say that the opposing ship may indeed move to four (or two) hexes and back out by the end of the impulse and still qualify to identify the Q-ship. Seeing as you can only move four hexes each turn, this isn't going to give anyone a tremendous advantage. Especially as the Q-ship is going to have plenty of power with which to control its own movement. _________________
  
 
Federation Commander Answer Guy | 
			 
		  | 
	
	
		| Back to top | 
		 | 
	
	
		  | 
	
	
		 |